F-35AThe F-35 is a single-seat, single-engine, fifth-generation fighter plane being developed to perform ground attack, reconnaissance, and air defense missions with stealth capability. The plane can fly at an astounding speed of 1,199 mph or 1,930 km/h.

There will be three different planes.  The F-35A is a conventional takeoff and landing plane and will be used by the US Air Force.  The F-35B is a short take-off and vertical-landing and will be used by the Marines.  The F-35C is a carrier-based plane and will be used by the US Navy.

  1. Top speed: 1,199 mph (1,930 km/h)
  2. Range: 1,379 miles (2,220 km)
  3. Wingspan: 35′ (11 m)
  4. Length: 51′ (16 m)
  5. First flight: December 15, 2006

The F-35 will provide the bulk of the tactical airpower for the U.S. Air Force, Marine Corps and Navy over the coming decades. Deliveries of the F-35 for the U.S. military are to be completed in 2037.

The F-35 development is being principally funded by the United States with additional funding from NATO members or other U.S. allies including Canada, UK, Italy, Israel, Turkey, Australia, Denmark, Norway and the Netherlands are part of the active development program.  South Korea ordered 40 F-35s in late 2013.  Japan has ordered the F-35, while Singapore may also purchase the F-35.

The F-35 fighter plane is the Pentagon’s most expensive weapons system costing nearly $400 billion for 2,400 aircraft.  However, it will keep America safe from the present and future enemies.

Leave a Reply